Visa requirement for Kosovars travelling to EU to be dropped

As from 1 January 2024 at the latest, Kosovo passport holders will be able to enter the European Union (EU) and the Schengen area twice a year for 90 days without a visa.

Following agreement between the European Parliament and the Council on a proposal by the Commission, passport holders from Kosovo will be allowed to travel to the EU without a visa, for maximum 90 days in any 180-day period.

Switzerland has confirmed that it would also lift its visa requirements for Kosovo passport holders correspondingly.

The 90-day visa regulation already applies to the Western Balkan countries, such as Serbia and Montenegro.

Indeed, Kosovo remains the only country in continental Europe besides Russia and Belarus outside the EU’s visa-free regime.

“Visa-free travel brings key benefits for citizens on both sides, strengthening further the EU relations with Kosovo, the Commission,” said. “Kosovo has consistently fulfilled all benchmarks and continuously shown its commitment. With this achievement, all Western Balkan partners will soon have visa-free access to the EU.”

Kosovo has applied to become a member of the EU, but five EU countries – Spain, Greece, Romania, Slovakia and Cyprus – do not recognise it as an independent nation. In 2008, Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia, but is still considered a breakaway territory by Belgrade.

Sola Jolaoso

Check Also

President Tinubu invites David Alaba to invest in Nigeria

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has invited David Olatokunbo Alaba to invest in Nigeria, the homeland …