Home / CULTURE & SOCIETY / Here are the Top African Festivals in Germany 2017!
Fatoumata Diawara, the Malian blues maestro, is one of the headliners at this year’s Africa Festival Würzburg (25-28 May), which brings together diverse artistes from across Africa and its Diaspora / Photo: BFM

Here are the Top African Festivals in Germany 2017!

The annual summer season of African music and culture in Germany is on with various events, including live concerts and parading the crème de la crème of artistes from the continent and the Diaspora. Here are the top festivals:

Black International Cinema Berlin │ 12-14 May/Berlin, Haus der Demokratie │ www.black-international-cinema.com

African Food Festival Berlin │20-21 May / Alt-Stralau 1, 10245 Berlin www.facebook.com/africanfoodfestivalberlin

Africa Festival  Wuerzburg │25-28 May / Wuerzburg, Mainwiesen │www.africafestival.org

Kenako-Festival Berlin │8 – 18 June / Berlin, Alexanderplatz │www.kenako-festival.de

Afro-Ruhr Festival │30 June- 2July / Dortmund, Dietrich Keuning-Haus │www.afro-ruhr-festival.de

Afrika Festival Münster │1 – 11 June / Münster, diverse venues │afrika-kooperative.blogspot.de

Afrikatage Heidelberg/Mannheim │ Not yet fixed / Heidelberg & Mannheim │www.afrikatage.de

 Markt der Kulturen Breisach │Not yet fixed / Breisach, Weinfestgelände │www.basar.afrikaba.de

 Afrika Festival Nürnberg │15 – 18 June / Nürnberg, In den Pegnitzwiesen │www.afrika-festival-nuernberg.de

Afrikanisches Kulturfest Frankfurt │7 – 9 July / Frankfurt/Main, Rebstockpark │www.afrikanisches-kulturfest.de

Afrika-Fest Freudenstadt │24 – 25 June / Freudenstadt, Oberer Marktplatz │www.afrika-fest.info

Summerjam Festival  Cologne │30 June – 2 July / Cologne, Fuehlinger See │www.summerjam.de

Afrikatage Landshut │28 – 30 July / Landshut, Alte Kaserne │www.afrikatage-landshut.de

Afrika Festival Stuttgart │7 – 9 July / Stuttgart, Erwin-Schoettle-Platz │www.afrikafestival-stuttgart.de

Sommerfestival der Kulturen Stuttgart│11 – 16 July / Stuttgart, Marktplatz │www.sommerfestival-der-kulturen.de

Afrika-Karibik-Festival Bayreuth │21 – 23 July / Bayreuth, Maximilianstraße │www.afro-karibik-festival.de

Afrika-Orient Kulturfestival Bonn │28 – 30 July / Bonn, Bottlerplatz & Friedensplatz │www.afrika-orient-bonn.de

Afrika-Festival Wiesbaden Not yet fixed/ Wiesbaden, Festivalgelände Gramenz www.black-magic-afrika.de

African Music Festival Emmendingen 4 – 6 August / Emmendingen, Schlossplatz │www.afrikaba.com

Afrika Karibik Festival Aschaffenburg │10 – 13 August / Aschaffenburg, Festplatz │www.karibik-festival.de

Afrikatage Duesseldorf Not yet fixed/ Duesseldorf, Freizeitpark │ www.enije.com

Afro Karibik Festival Frankfurt Not yet fixed/ Frankfurt/Main, Rebstockpark │www.afro-karibik.de

Chiemsee Summer Festival │16 – 19 August / Chiemsee, Übersee │www.chiemsee-summer.de

Afrika Festival Hamburg │25 – 27 August / Hamburg, Große Bergstrasse │www.alafia.de

MitAfrika Festival Cologne │11 – 13 September / Cologne, Schockoladenmuseum │www.festival-mitafrika.com

 

Check Also

Femi Kuti to rock Berlin and present new album

Femi Kuti and his band, the Positive Force, will rock the German capital city on …