The winners of the 2022 CAF Awards. Mane and Asisat were in Morocco to collect theirs award in person, with the Senegalese forward travelling across the Atlantic less than 24 hours after making his Bayern debut in the United States/Photo: @CAF_Online

Mane, Oshoala are best African football players

Senegal and Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane has won the 2022 CAF African Men’s Player Of The Year Award. It was his second time clinching the title, having won in 2019 while he was at Liverpool.

The 30-year-old, who left the Premier League club last month after signing a three-year deal with Bayern Munich, beat former Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah from Egypt and fellow Senegal international and Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy to the 2022 Men’s Player of the Year.

“I am really honoured and highly delighted to receive this award again,” Mane said. “Thanks to my coaches, my club and national team colleagues and those friends who stood by me during difficult times.”

Nigerian striker Asisat Oshoala won in the women’s category, taking a record fifth CAF African Women’s Player of the Year Award. The striker, who plays club football for Barcelona, beat Grace Chanda (Zambia/BIIK Kazygurt) and Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon/Inter Milan) to the award.

The Super Falcon, as Nigerian national women players are called, had previously won the award in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2019. The 2022 win sees 27-year-old Oshoala overtake her compatriot Perpetual Nkwocha, who won the honour four times, as the player with the most African Women’s Player of the Year Award.

The 2022 CAF Awards ceremony took place in Rabat, Morocco, on Thursday (21 July), after the coronavirus pandemic forced the cancellation of the last two editions.

Kola Tella


Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Player of the Year (Men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Avaldsnes)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Coach of the Year (Men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men): Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men): Senegal

Goal of the Year: Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal/ Simba FC)

Check Also

Has Mikel Arteta heralded the dawn of a new era at Arsenal?

Arsenal football club is one of Europe’s topflight sides that has been a shadow of …