The newly appointed Ambassadors in a group photo with Foreign Minister Onyeama (4th from right) after they were presented their credentials in Abuja on Friday /Photo: FFA

Nigeria’s newly-appointed Ambassadors receive Letters of Credence

Twenty-five ambassadors newly appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday (5 March) received their letters of credence.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama who presented the letters to the diplomats cautioned them to be financially prudent in their countries of the mission.

According to him, Nigeria’s resources are lean at the moment, hence the need for them to be financially disciplined.

Onyeama also charged the diplomats to consider themselves as economic ambassadors whose responsibilities include attracting investments into Nigeria, just as he called on them to represent the country in a manner that promotes its positive image.

Thirteen of those presented with the letter of credence are ambassadors designate, while twelve are deputy ambassadors designate.

A breakdown of the postings shows that former Minister of State for Defence, Demola Seriki goes to Spain, ex-Minister of Mines and Steel, Sarafat Ishola, is the new High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.

The list further showed that 11 envoys were re-appointed with eight retaining their places of primary assignment, while the other three were redeployed.

The current Nigerian Ambassador to Ireland, Dr. Uzoma Emenike, a career diplomat, was posted to the United States, just as M.I. Bashir serves as his deputy.

The eight that retained their seats include Mohammed Rimi (United Arab Emirates); Jidda Baba (China); Gani Bura (Lebanon); Yusuf Tuggar (Germany); Baba Madugu (Switzerland) and Deborah Illiya (Congo).

Others are Ambassador Tijani Muhammmad-Bande (Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York) and Adeyinka Asekun (High Commissioner to Canada).

But Prof Modupe Irele, the reigning Ambassador to France, is to be moved to Hungary, as her Hungarian colleague, Dr Eniola Ajayi, leaves for Netherlands.

For non-career diplomats, Ijeoma Chineyerem is resuming as Ambassador to Ireland; Abdulahi Shehu (Russia); Haruna Manta (South Africa); Kayode Laro (France); Paul Adikwu (The Vatican); Abubakar Moriki (Japan); Mrs. Opunimi Akinkugbe (Greece) and Ali Magashi (South Korea).

Others are M.O. Abam (Italy); N.A. Kolo (Israel); A. Sule (India); G.Y. Hamza (Ghana); A.N. Madubike (Australia) and O.C Onowu (Belgium).

The remaining appointees are to serve as deputy ambassadors or heads of mission. They include A.E. Alleboy (Deputy Ambassador to France); G.E. Edokpa (Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations), Ben Okoyen (Cuba); G.M. Okeke (Deputy Head of Mission to Switzerland); S. Sani (Deputy High Commissioner to UK); I.A Iwejuo (Deputy Ambassador to Ethiopia), I.A. Alatishe (Deputy Ambassador to Russia) and I.R. Ocheni (Germany).

Kola Tella

Check Also

Ukraine: NIDO chieftain praises Nigerian government

Dr Omotade Omotosho, President, Nigerians in Diaspora Organization (NIDO) Poland, has commended the Federal Government …